top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTasha

Monthly Update - Number 1! (Dec 2018)

Updated: Sep 7, 2019

I realized I do not update this blog enough haha! So I am going to begin a monthly health update, just to keep you guys on track about me! I am going to start these much more in the New Year!



So how have I been?

To put things simply, not great. The past couple of months have been an absolute nightmare for me, with such big changes massively affecting my mental health. Being Autistic I need routine and moving just did not sit well with me.

I love living with Callum (My Fiance for those who are new!) but it is incredibly hard getting used to such a new environment and a new routine. I now have my new quirks that I have to do (sort of like OCD) which can get a bit crazy! For example before I can sleep I have to say "See you later Alligator" and Callum has to respond "In a while speckled Caiman" or I physically cannot sleep at all. It sounds crazy, but that is how we have to live hah!

Quasimodo has been helping me hugely! If you don't know Quasi, he is my syrian hamster but we brought him as a form of Pet Therapy. Living in a flat we cannot have dogs or cats, but he was a perfect alternative. Plus, Quasimodo The Hamster of Notre Dame has to be the best name ever hah! He really does help me a lot. Whenever I get upset or need someone to talk to, I now go over to Quasi (if it is in the day I let him stay asleep) and I just sit and chat to him about my problems. Having something so tiny to care for has also helped me a lot mentally. It means I am slowly learning to not forget things, and though Callum does have to keep reminding me (because I am a total loser and suck when it comes to this kind of memory!), we work as a team to get things done. For example, seeing his cage is a big reminder that I need to not only feed him, but eat some of my own food.


Physically things have also been tough! Callum couldn't bring the car to Leicester with us due to lack of parking, and even if he had, I would still need to walk to Uni every day! It is about 0.7 of a mile there, and another 0.7 back every time I walk to Uni, which may not seem a lot to some people but for me is hell. I will be able to walk it some days without problem, but the next day I tend to really struggle! Especially as the entire way there is uphill! I am currently in talks to plan getting a self-propelled wheelchair to help me get there, but with my arms and hands also having extreme weakness, and the journey being uphill, it may hinder me more than help! As for the wheelchair, yes I will still be able to walk, but no this does not mean I wouldn't need it! I have had a few comments when using hire chairs (when I visibly stand up out of them and cause shock horror haha!) that I am 'wrong' or 'disgusting' for using a chair when I can walk. Unfortunately people don't see pain, and cannot realise why. I will do a separate blog post about this though as I think it is a problem which could benefit others from being spoken about! :)


So on the whole, these last few months were tough for me health-wise. I have had mental and physical health issues one after another, but we have made it through! And it is now almost Christmas and New Year! <3

At the start of Uni, i did contemplate giving up. For now I am just doing my best with the health I have and sticking at it :) I can't say it is easy because it really isn't (and that is for anyone, whether in perfect health or unwell!) but the best I can do is try!


Thank you for reading this, I will definitely keep you guys updated in 2019!!

Lots of Love, Tasha x

8 views0 comments
bottom of page